Why one Java developer jumped to Salesforce and hasn’t looked back

As a software developer, one of the most important decisions you make is what platform or language to focus on. The choice can depend on market conditions like the languages employers are looking for, but also on more personal factors like the type of work you enjoy doing.

I had a chance to talk with Aditya Pothukuchi, Software Development Manager, Salesforce Team at GrubHub, at Salesforce’s annual developer conference, TrailheaDX, about how he made this choice. I was really impressed by the process he went through in deciding to jump from Java to Salesforce, so I asked him to tell me his story and explain why he took a risk on a whole new career path. I also think Aditya is a prime example of the intense loyalty Salesforce has cultivated among the people who build on, support, and use the company’s platforms.

Recession prompts developer to re-evaluate career path

Aditya Pothukuchi: I started my career as a Java engineer, back in 2007, 2008. It’s a recession time. I started as a Java developer, even entering into Java developer also, it’s a big story. But, in 2,000 people they selected 20 people, and I am one among them. My monthly salary at that point of time is $98 American currency per month. That’s where I started my career, and I continued like that for two years in that small company back in India. Because I need to work hard everyday like 14 hours, 15 hours and my track record in that company, like continuously working for 19 hours without any break. I worked like that and after two years completion in that company, we got a Salesforce project from Procter & Gamble, in that company. My manager encouraged me that yeah Aditya you can join in this team. There’s a team of a senior developers and the one … I’m one junior developer in that team, I was very nervous at that point of time. I told … I went to my manager and I told that I don’t want to go into this Salesforce or whatever stuff that you are saying because that is new to me. I want to be a Java developer, and I just wanted to continue in that. My manager told me “I have trust in you because you can learn” and they gave me two weeks of time to learn Salesforce and in 2008 there is no Trailhead and there are no free YouTube [tutorials]… Read More .

News Source : https://www.zdnet.com

Leave a comment